Growing Up Is Hard To Do

25 06 2009

“They say that breaking up is hard to do”, but I think that growing up is harder.

You do everything right, you follow the rules, you get into a good college, and you graduate…. and then life decides to stomp on you like a child playing with bubble wrap! There are so many bills to pay, and things that “grown-ups” do. Health Insurance, Car Insurance, Car Registration, Car Maintenance, all of which require money. But where does money come from? In college, we’re told that there are plenty of jobs out there. We are told that we are going to be successful. Well, a month out of college, I’m still unemployed and beginning to become a bit jaded.

I never wanted to stay in Kentucky, so I moved. I decided to take a chance and I moved across the country to a place where everyone rides bikes and recycles and there are mom and pop businesses everywhere. It doesn’t get too hott, and the winters are always white. Sounds like I am living the DREAM! However, with every dream, eventually you wake up. My real wake up call was when I found out that my teaching certificate is basically useless out here. I will have to take another series of tests in order to teach any of the classes that I was trained to teach. That was disappointing, to say the least. What’s been more disappointing is that I can’t even seem to find a simple part-time job. I don’t have any experience in the retail or food industry. I thought it would be a good idea to build my resume by working with kids. It turns out, that isn’t enough experience to work at a school. So, I really don’t have any experience in anything.

How can being grown up be this hard? How are you supposed to get ahead if no one will give you a job? Out of college, I don’t have enough experience even to be a waitress! What’s a girl to do?


Actions

Information

Leave a comment